Traffic Violations Attorney in West Orange NJ
If you have a driver’s license, you may someday find yourself pulled over to the side of the road by a police officer. It happens to the best of us and, often, you may have a defense that will enable a knowledgeable traffic lawyer to get your charges reduced or even dismissed. Fighting your ticket is generally a good idea since almost every moving violation in New Jersey carries the potential for points on your license and steep fines. That’s why you need to speak with an attorney immediately. Having a skilled traffic attorney on your side can make all the difference in the world when it comes to beating your traffic charges and saving you money. The experienced criminal defense and traffic ticket attorneys at Brown Law, LLC can protect your rights and prevent you from being assessed the most severe penalties for your traffic violation. Contact our firm to discuss your situation.
Common Traffic Violations in NJ
Traffic violations can be serious and may result in points on your license, higher insurance premiums, and in some cases, even a license suspension. Some of the most common traffic violations in New Jersey include:
- Speeding – If you exceed the speed limit by 30 mph or more, you may be penalized with five points on your license. Importantly, you can be assessed a ticket for speeding even if there were no visible speed limit signs posted on the road.
- Reckless driving – Driving in a manner that endangers other people can result in a ticket for reckless driving. This often includes driving at an excessive speed. A first offense for reckless driving can lead to jail time of two months, a fine of $200, and possible license suspension for up to three months. Additionally, a reckless driving violation will result in five points on your license.
- Careless driving – Anyone who fails to exercise proper caution while driving can be cited for careless driving. Since careless driving is a subjective charge that is often made at the discretion of the traffic officer, this charge is commonplace in New Jersey. A conviction for careless driving can result in a $200 fine, two points on your license, and up to 15 days in jail.
- Distracted driving – New Jersey prohibits the use of handheld devices while driving. This includes the use of cell phones for text messaging.
- Driving with a suspended license – A first offense for driving with a suspended license can result in a $500 fine and an additional six-month license suspension. Subsequent offenses can lead to enhanced penalties, including lengthy jail sentences. Additionally, if you are involved in an accident that causes bodily injury to another person, there are severe consequences. You face a mandatory term of imprisonment of 45 days, with the potential for up to six months in jail.
- Driving without insurance – NJ state law requires all drivers to maintain insurance in most instances in the amount of at least $15,000 for injury or death of one person, $30,000 for injury or death of multiple people, and $5,000 for property damage. Depending on the number of prior offenses, a person who drives without insurance could be sentenced to 14 days in jail, fined $5,000, and lose their driving privileges for a period of two years. This may impact your ability to get to and from work.
- Leaving the scene of an accident – The penalties are determined by the extent of any injuries and property damage resulting from the accident. A first offense for leaving the scene of an accident is punishable by license suspension for six months and possible jail time. You are also subject to fines and penalties.
New Jersey Traffic Violations Point System
|27:23-29||Moving against traffic on the NJ Turnpike, GSP, or Atlantic City Expressway||2|
|27:23-29||Improper Passing on the NJ Turnpike, GSP, or Atlantic City Expressway||4|
|27:23-29||Unlawful use of median strip on the NJ Turnpike, GSP, or Atlantic City Expressway||2|
|39:3-20||Operating a construction vehicle at more than 45 mph||3|
|39:4-14.3||Operating a motorized bike on a restricted highway||2|
|39:4-14.3d||Operating a motorized bicycle with more than one person||2|
|39:4-35||Failure to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk||2|
|39:4-36||Passing a vehicle yielding to a pedestrian in a crosswalk||2|
|39:4-41||Driving through a safety zone||2|
|39:4-52||Racing on a highway||5|
|39:4-55||Improper action or omission on grades and curves||2|
|39:4-57||Failure to observe the direction of an officer||2|
|39:4-66||Failure to stop vehicle before crossing sidewalk||2|
|39:4-66.1||Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while entering/exiting highway||2|
|39:4-66.2||Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal||2|
|39:4-71||Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk||2|
|39:4-80||Failure to obey the direction of an officer||2|
|39:4-81||Failure to observe traffic signals (except red light camera violations)||2|
|39:4-82||Failure to keep right||2|
|39:4-82.1||Improper operation of a vehicle on divided highway or divider||2|
|39:4-83||Failure to keep right at an intersection||2|
|39:4-84||Failure to pass to the right of a vehicle that is proceeding in the opposite direction||5|
|39:4-85||Improper passing on the right or off the roadway||4|
|39:4-85.1||Driving the wrong way on a one-way street||2|
|39:4-86||Improper passing in a no-passing zone||4|
|39:4-87||Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle||2|
|39:4:88||Failure to observe traffic lanes||2|
|39:4-90||Failure to yield at intersection||2|
|39:4-90.1||Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways||2|
|39:4-91-92||Failure to yield to emergency vehicles||2|
|39:4-97a||Destruction of agricultural or recreational property||2|
|39:4-97.1||Slow speed blocking traffic||2|
|39:4-97.2||Driving in an unsafe manner||4|
|39:4-98||Driving 1-14 mph over the speed limit||2|
|39:4-98||Driving 15-29 mph over the speed limit||4|
|39:4-98||Driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit||5|
|39:4-105||Failure to stop for a traffic light||2|
|39:4-115||Improper turn at traffic light||3|
|39:4-119||Failure to stop at a flashing red light||2|
|39:4-122||Failure to stop for police whistle||2|
|39:4-123||Improper right or left turn||3|
|39:4-124||Improper turn from approved turning course||3|
|39:4-126||Failure to give proper signal||2|
|39:4-127||Improper backing or turning in street||2|
|39:4-127.1||Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing||2|
|39:4-127.2||Improper crossing of bridge||2|
|39:4-128||Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles||2|
|39:4-128.1||Improper passing of a school bus||5|
|39:4-128.4||Improper passing of a frozen dessert truck||4|
|39:4-129||Leaving the scene of an accident with no injuries||2|
|39:4-129||Leaving the scene of an accident with injuries||8|
|39:4-144||Failure to observe stop signs or yield signs||2|
|39:5C-1||Racing on a highway||5|
|39:5D-4||Moving violation committed out of state||2|
Contact an Essex County Traffic Violations Attorney
If you have received a traffic ticket in New Jersey, it is important to consider your legal options. Hiring an attorney who can fight to clear your name can help you avoid increased insurance premiums and points on your license. Brown Law, LLC has over 30 years of experience representing people who have been issued a traffic ticket in New Jersey. To discuss your case, contact our firm today.